Audi CRTD engine.

foreroadicto
Posts: 21
Joined: Sat Mar 07, 2020 4:41 pm

Re: Audi CRTD engine.

Post by foreroadicto » Sun May 17, 2020 10:09 pm

Hi. A few weeks ago I forced regeneration with Obdeleven and I remember:

- The red hourglass icon didn't come out. On the top right.
- The green arrows I remember had movement on the red filter.

Today being at 30.2g it has regenerated me and:

- The red hourglass icon didn't come out.
- The green arrows were not moving.

What explanation does it have? Thank you.

User avatar
admin
Site Admin
Posts: 102
Joined: Sun Jun 02, 2019 10:58 pm

Re: Audi CRTD engine.

Post by admin » Mon May 18, 2020 12:12 pm

If green arrows don't rotate means no data transfer.
Can you see green arrows on the DPF filter image? Have you disabled the automatic data update maybe? Clicking on the DPF image you enable/disable the automatic data update.

foreroadicto
Posts: 21
Joined: Sat Mar 07, 2020 4:41 pm

Re: Audi CRTD engine.

Post by foreroadicto » Mon May 18, 2020 12:55 pm

Hi. These two images are from yesterday while I was regenerating. The green arrows are there but they didn't move. And the little hourglass I've never seen.
20200517_141721.jpg
20200517_141300.jpg

User avatar
admin
Site Admin
Posts: 102
Joined: Sun Jun 02, 2019 10:58 pm

Re: Audi CRTD engine.

Post by admin » Tue May 19, 2020 12:10 pm

Green arrows on the filter image are static, the 2 green arrows next to the green car icon have to rotate when there are data receiving.
I see those arrows in different angle position so I suppose they rotate.

The red hourglass doesn't appear because the value "Regen. duration" is 0. This value must increase when the regeneration is running.
I see you've set the engine group 10: have you tried every engine group and this is the only one working? If the answer is yes, you should try to change the engine group when the regeneration is running looking for for some group in which the Regen. duration value is different from 0.

foreroadicto
Posts: 21
Joined: Sat Mar 07, 2020 4:41 pm

Re: Audi CRTD engine.

Post by foreroadicto » Tue May 19, 2020 2:57 pm

Hi. Then:

1- the only moving arrows are the ones next to the bluetooth/adapter/car icons. So believe me, I'm sure I've seen the green arrows move around and into the filter pattern. :D :D :D
2- the hourglass symbol doesn't appear because it doesn't read the "Regen. duration" field.

I've tried all the engine groups:

10: it reads me all the data, apparently because the "Regen. duration" doesn't.
read from ecu, 0, 9,11: does not read "oil ash residue" and " low press EGR closing".
7: does not read me "post injection 1", "post injection 2" and "post injection 3"
2, 3: does not read me "low press EGR closing".
12: does not read me "oil ash residue"

Do you advise me to try one of these to see if it reads well the "Regen. duration" losing other values or do I leave it as it is? which group do you advise me, which value is less important, maybe 2 and 3?

What a pity that in group 10 I do NOT read that data.

Thank you.

User avatar
admin
Site Admin
Posts: 102
Joined: Sun Jun 02, 2019 10:58 pm

Re: Audi CRTD engine.

Post by admin » Wed May 20, 2020 2:43 pm

During next regeneration, try every engine group and check the parameter "Regen duration": if some group has value different from 0 I can merge that parameter to the group 10 to create a new group specific for your engine; if all groups have always value 0, I have no other solutions.
Anyway, in this last case, the app still works well, you'll loose only the notification of the regeneration activated by the ECU.

foreroadicto
Posts: 21
Joined: Sat Mar 07, 2020 4:41 pm

Re: Audi CRTD engine.

Post by foreroadicto » Wed May 20, 2020 2:49 pm

Ok, Thanks.

foreroadicto
Posts: 21
Joined: Sat Mar 07, 2020 4:41 pm

Re: Audi CRTD engine.

Post by foreroadicto » Tue May 26, 2020 2:31 pm

admin wrote:
Wed May 20, 2020 2:43 pm
During next regeneration, try every engine group and check the parameter "Regen duration": if some group has value different from 0 I can merge that parameter to the group 10 to create a new group specific for your engine; if all groups have always value 0, I have no other solutions.
Anyway, in this last case, the app still works well, you'll loose only the notification of the regeneration activated by the ECU.
Hi.

This morning while doing the regeneration (which by the way started today when it reached 28g, last week it was 30g), I tried all the groups in which the "Regen duration" field (ECU-0-2-3-4-9-10-11-12) "is supposed" to read to me. In all of them it marks 0 in the "Regen duration" field and the small filter and the red hourglass do not appear either.

I have tested the group "7" which has this field "Field regen. Request Status" in it marked 8 all the time until it has finished regenerating which has changed to 0. In this group IF appears the small red filter and the red hourglass.

What does this field mean? With this you could create a group for my engine? Thank you.
20200526_090754.jpg

User avatar
admin
Site Admin
Posts: 102
Joined: Sun Jun 02, 2019 10:58 pm

Re: Audi CRTD engine.

Post by admin » Tue May 26, 2020 4:38 pm

Field Regen request status is a parameter I used in engines who don't have the Regen duration value.
I used that to understand when the ECU is performing the regeneration process: for both parameters the value 0 means no pending or running regen activities; Regen Duration shows the regeneration time, Regen Request field status shows the ECU internal code about the regeneration process (but I don't have a list or codes meaning).
So your engine ECU doesn't share the regen duration, but using the request status I can make the app full working with your engine. This requires the creation of a new specific group merging all the correct parameters.
Let me do a deep check, but probably I'll add the new group in next app release.
Thanks for you report.

PS: if you always see the regeneration starting at about 28-30 grams, you should override the field regen limit in the options menu. I suggest to try the value 30 first and fine tune it if necessary then.

User avatar
admin
Site Admin
Posts: 102
Joined: Sun Jun 02, 2019 10:58 pm

Re: Audi CRTD engine.

Post by admin » Tue May 26, 2020 5:37 pm

I'm creating the new group 16 and I have a question for you: I see in your screenshots the values "Distance since last regen" and "Time since last regen" very high compared to common values for TDI engines, can you check if they increase correctly? Distance can be easily compared to your dash mileage and the time should increase like the clock while the engine is powered on. Maybe I've already checked this and can confirm.

foreroadicto
Posts: 21
Joined: Sat Mar 07, 2020 4:41 pm

Re: Audi CRTD engine.

Post by foreroadicto » Tue May 26, 2020 6:51 pm

admin wrote:
Tue May 26, 2020 5:37 pm
I'm creating the new group 16 and I have a question for you: I see in your screenshots the values "Distance since last regen" and "Time since last regen" very high compared to common values for TDI engines, can you check if they increase correctly? Distance can be easily compared to your dash mileage and the time should increase like the clock while the engine is powered on. Maybe I've already checked this and can confirm.
These are correct values. I'm telling you.
May 10th: with 11.5gr when I start I make a 560 km (5 hours) trip by motorway.
11,12,13,14 May: I do about 100 km (62 miles) in small trips.
15th May: I make a 560 km (5 hours) return trip when I get home, it's 29 gr.
16th May: I leave to regenerate and it does so when I reach 30gr (I had already travelled 1220km plus the km until I reached the initial 11,5gr (about 1350km in total).

May 19: 560 km trip 100% motorway.
May 20,21: I do about 100 km in trips
May 22: return trip 560 km 100% motorway. When I arrive it marks 25 gr.

23,24,25 May: short trip about 100 km in total.

May 26th: 560 km trip 100% motorway. When I've been 150 km I've regenerated, at 28 g more or less. So I was carrying since the regeneration of May 16 (560+100+560+100+150=1470 approximately)

Let's make sure the numbers match perfectly. It's a coincidence that I now use it for long trips 99% of the time and that I step on it a little bit and it does quite a lot of passive regeneration.

If you need any more information, let me know. A greeting.

User avatar
admin
Site Admin
Posts: 102
Joined: Sun Jun 02, 2019 10:58 pm

Re: Audi CRTD engine.

Post by admin » Wed May 27, 2020 1:56 pm

Ok thanks for the detailed explanation.
It sounds strange for me because my engine (and also the engine of my previous car) has a limit both in time and distance that are many less than your values. Probably you have a bigger filter (this is the reason why it starts to regen at 30 grams instead of 23-24 like others) and all the limits are increased.

I'm going to release the new version, probably in 1-2 days.
Then let me know if everything works correctly with the new group 16.

Bye

foreroadicto
Posts: 21
Joined: Sat Mar 07, 2020 4:41 pm

Re: Audi CRTD engine.

Post by foreroadicto » Mon Jun 01, 2020 6:02 pm

Hi.
Program updated. Tomorrow I have to travel 600 km and it's in 25gr so I'll do the regeneration and I'll make captures for you to check the operation. Thank you.

foreroadicto
Posts: 21
Joined: Sat Mar 07, 2020 4:41 pm

Re: Audi CRTD engine.

Post by foreroadicto » Tue Jun 02, 2020 1:13 pm

Hi. I tried group 16 this morning and it failed. I'm telling you.
I started the program with the group already selected and it connects but doesn't read data. Clicking on the filter to activate the data reading is useless (it does nothing).

I went to group 10 and everything worked at once. I have tried several times and it does not read the data. I pass you a video uploaded to wetransfer.
https://wetransfer.com/downloads/9ce570 ... 030/a6ae67

If once with group 10 I switch to group 16 if it seems to work but the car icon remains in yellow (see photo).
20200602_073518.jpg
20200602_073453.jpg


All the trip I have done with the group 10 until it started to regenerate, this time it started at 26 gr and 1400km, so I don't know what to think. It regenerated me at 30, 28 26 gr and at some point it reached 1450 km. I don't worry about it because it seems to be in good health and it works.
20200602_101402.jpg
When I saw that it was regenerating, I moved on to group 16. The car icon in yellow, the rest seems to be working well.
20200602_101854.jpg
Greetings.

User avatar
admin
Site Admin
Posts: 102
Joined: Sun Jun 02, 2019 10:58 pm

Re: Audi CRTD engine.

Post by admin » Tue Jun 02, 2020 6:20 pm

I checked quickly but I don't find any errors in the code. I'll give a deep check with a test in car.

In the meantime can you try to uninstall and reinstall the app? Just to check if it's a cache problem.

foreroadicto
Posts: 21
Joined: Sat Mar 07, 2020 4:41 pm

Re: Audi CRTD engine.

Post by foreroadicto » Tue Jun 02, 2020 7:41 pm

Ok. I'll uninstall the app and reinstall it. I'll try it out first thing tomorrow and tell you

foreroadicto
Posts: 21
Joined: Sat Mar 07, 2020 4:41 pm

Re: Audi CRTD engine.

Post by foreroadicto » Tue Jun 02, 2020 9:32 pm

Nothing. I've tried it and it's still the same. I've uninstalled, dalvik cleaned, cached and reinstalled.

If I start the program with group 16 selected, it finds the adapter but doesn't read data. If I start the program with group 10 selected it works fine. I upload the video I have recorded.

https://wetransfer.com/downloads/110eab ... 837/90f6d2

User avatar
admin
Site Admin
Posts: 102
Joined: Sun Jun 02, 2019 10:58 pm

Re: Audi CRTD engine.

Post by admin » Wed Jun 03, 2020 11:50 am

Ok thanks, let me check in detail.

User avatar
admin
Site Admin
Posts: 102
Joined: Sun Jun 02, 2019 10:58 pm

Re: Audi CRTD engine.

Post by admin » Wed Jun 03, 2020 6:37 pm

Found the problem: it was a stupid code error.
I'm going to release a new version, then you can also let the app to read the engine code from the ECU.

Let me know if it works.

Bye

foreroadicto
Posts: 21
Joined: Sat Mar 07, 2020 4:41 pm

Re: Audi CRTD engine.

Post by foreroadicto » Thu Jun 04, 2020 5:23 pm

Hi. Tested and now it works well. When I do an active regeneration I tell you.

As a suggestion for future versions, you could put an option to keep the screen always on while the app is running.

Thank you.

Post Reply