Would you be able to start manual regeneration?

Ask for new features
Post Reply
csonkasz
Posts: 2
Joined: Tue Jan 04, 2022 10:01 am

Would you be able to start manual regeneration?

Post by csonkasz » Tue Jan 04, 2022 10:09 am

This would be great.

User avatar
admin
Site Admin
Posts: 331
Joined: Sun Jun 02, 2019 10:58 pm

Re: Would you be able to start manual regeneration?

Post by admin » Wed Jan 05, 2022 10:45 am

Yes would be a great feature, I know, but when I started this project I decided to create a read-only app to avoid any kind of problem for the final users, also considering that I don't have documentation about the VAG software, so all of the the parts of the app have been created with reverse engineering that is a risky process by nature.
To add an active command like the forced regeneration, I should test many different ECU type and version to verify the correctness of the procedure, but this is impossible without specific documentation and knowledge. The regeneration is a high risk process, I don't want to let to the users the final test of my app. On the contrary, with a read-only app it's possible because in the worst case, the app doesn't read some parameters, but with a forced regeneration I should be 100% sure of what I'm releasing in the app and this is impossible for me.
These are the reasons why I decided to avoid any kind of risk.

csonkasz
Posts: 2
Joined: Tue Jan 04, 2022 10:01 am

Re: Would you be able to start manual regeneration?

Post by csonkasz » Fri Jan 14, 2022 6:24 pm

Thanks!

Post Reply